Slaughterhouse Jive

Classified Categories: Archived

Slaughterhouse Jive

One Act Play Festival

This audition opportunity has passed.

Emanating Theatre is looking for actors for the upcoming production of Slaughterhouse Jive in the One Act Play Festival at the Pumphouse Theatre.

Dates: March 20 – 23, 2019
Performance Date: One performance on one of the days of March 20 to 23, 2019.
Production: Slaughterhouse Jive by Nickolina Foussekis
Director: Kodie Rollan
Audition: Sunday, February 17, 2019, 6:00 – 9:00pm
Location: cSPACE King Edward, using a prepared slide from the script

Synopsis

When Alaine meets her ex, Alex, at pre-agreed coordinates following a zombie apocalypse, she’s surprised to discover it’s the location of a slaughterhouse—and that it contains a single zombie, named Chewy. As Alaine and Alex’s conflicting views and problematic relationship escalates around the existence of Chewy, they careen towards a dark resolution.

Available Roles

  • Alaine: late 20s, female-presenting. Reflective, empathetic, and a mixture of resistance and inertia.
  • Alex: Late 20s, male-presenting. Resentful over a past event, sometimes abusive, and aspires to importance
  • Chewy: A zombie, any adult age, male-presenting. Sometimes talks.

Who Can Apply?

Actors must be non-union. We enthusiastically encourage applications from all artists, including and especially Artists of colour, Indigenous artists, LGBTQIA+ artists, and artists of any experience level.

Are the Roles Paid?

We are offering a $100 honorarium for each role in the production.

Tentative Rehearsal Schedule 

Readings: Sunday, February 24, 2019, day and Thursday, February 28, 2019, evening

Rehearsals:

  • Friday, March 1, 2019, evening
  • Saturday, March 2, 2019, day
  • Sunday, March 3, 2019, day
  • Thursday, March 7, 2019, evening
  • Saturday, March 8, 2019, day
  • Sunday, March 9, 2019, day
  • Thursday, March 14, 2019, evening
  • Friday, March 15, 2019, evening
  • Saturday, March 16, 2019, day
  • Sunday, March 17, 2019, day
  • Tuesday, March 19, 2019, evening

To submit for an audition time, please send your resume and headshot to nicole.foussekis@emanatingtheatre.com as soon as possible. We are also accepting video auditions if you’re unable to make the audition time. Thank you!

Share this page
Share