2024 Alberta Playwriting Competition

Classified Categories: Contests, Call for Submissions

2024 Alberta Playwriting Competition

Deadline: March 31, 2024, 11:59pm MT
Entry fee: $50 per submission

Celebrating its 58th consecutive year, the Alberta Playwriting Competition (presented in association with Theatre Alberta) is now open for submissions.


The competition recognizes the most outstanding un-produced Alberta play with The Sharon Pollock Award ($5,000 cash prize). It is open to all playwrights who reside in Alberta, whether they are members of the Alberta Playwrights’ Network or not.

A secondary prize (Novitiate Prize) may be awarded at the jury’s discretion to recognize the work of an un-produced playwright. There is no cash with the Novitiate Prize, but APN offers playwright and play development for the recipient.

Entry Fee

Each submission must be accompanied by a non-refundable entry fee of $50 (cheque or money order payable to Alberta Playwrights’ Network for hard copy submissions) or a non-refundable entry fee of $52.50 ($50 entry fee + $2.50 service charge for online submissions).

For full guidelines and registration, visit: albertaplaywrights.com.

Graphic with a typewriter image to promote the Alberta Playwriting Competition 2024

Share this page