The Legacy of Doug and Lois Mitchell Outstanding Calgary Artist Award

The Legacy of Doug and Lois Mitchell Outstanding Calgary Artist Award was established to honour artists who are lauded for their work in national and international arenas and choose to make Calgary their home. Regardless of career length, these artists are acknowledged by their peers around the world for the caliber of their work and their contributions to the arts. They are innovators who have significantly enriched artistic discourse in Canada. 

This award is an opportunity for Calgarians to celebrate our own.

This is a $5,000 cash award, with funds intended to support artistic work. The award will be presented to the recipient at an event celebrating the arts in 2023. The winner of this award will also receive a one-week residency at Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

This award was established by Doug and Lois Mitchell and Calgary 2012 and is a legacy project of Calgary’s year as a Cultural Capital of Canada.

About Doug & Lois Mitchell

As the co-chairs of Calgary 2012, Calgary’s year as a Cultural Capital of Canada, the Honourable Lois and Doug Mitchell helped shine a spotlight on the vibrancy of arts, culture and heritage in our city.

Beyond our Cultural Capital year, Doug and Lois Mitchell know that our city’s artists need to continue to be recognized in the global arena for their talent and contributions to Calgary. That’s why they saw the need to establish an award that calls attention to those artists who receive accolades from international peers, and acknowledges their role in the continued success of our city. Doug and Lois have continued to support the arts scene in Calgary in various ways, including throughout Lois’s recent term as Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

Award Rules & Criteria


Guidelines PDF
Nomination Form

Submit Your Nomination

For more information about The Legacy of Doug and Lois Mitchell Outstanding Calgary Artist Award, please email

Previous Recipients: Jean Grand-Maître (2013), Chris Cran (2014), Rebecca Northan (2015), Old Trout Puppet Workshop (2016), Kris Demeanor (2017), Sandi Somers (2018), George Webber (2019), Katie Ohe (2020), Cheryl Foggo (2021), Sandra Sawatzky (2022)

Generously Supported By:

Logos for Calgary Arts Development, Calgary 2012, The City of Calgary